What are the different ecological zones?

The five major Domains were Tropical, Subtropical, Temperate, Boreal and Polar. These were considered to divide the globe into five broad but ecologically valid units for global forest reporting, and the subzones provide more detailed categories where required within a broad zone.

What are the three ecological zones?

3.4 Characteristics of global Ecological Zones

  • 1 Tropical domain. Mean temperature of all months over 18oC. …
  • 2 Subtropical domain. At least 8 months above 10oC. …
  • 3 Temperate domain. …
  • 4 Boreal domain.

How many ecological zones are there?

Based on 50 years of climate data and an up-to-date soil database, the country has been divided into 20 agro-ecological zones (AEZs). Each AEZ is as uniform as possible in terms of physiography, climate, length of growing period and soil type for macrolevel land-use planning and effective transfer of technology.

What are the 5 ecological zones in Africa?

AEZ classification, shown in Figure 1, divides Africa into five ecosystem types depending upon temperature and precipitation: semi-arid, dry savannah, moist savannah, sub-humid, and humid forest.

INTERESTING:  Question: Why are coastal waters important to ecological systems?

What are the six ecological zone in Nigeria?

The country has six distinct agro-ecological zones transiting in south-north direction from the Atlantic coast to the arid savanna of Sahel. These are the Mangrove Swamp, Rainforest, Derived savanna, Guinea savanna, Sudan savanna and Sahel savanna zones.

Which ecological zone is Kumasi?

Kumasi is sited in the moist semi-deciduous South-East Ecological Zone of Ghana with Ceiba, Triplochiton, Celtis and some exotic species being among the most common tree genera [42]. …

How many ecological zones is Ghana divided into?

There are six agro-ecological zones in Ghana: Sudan Savannah, Guinea Savannah, Coastal Savannah, Forest/Savannah transitional zone, Deciduous Forest zone and the Rain Forest zone. Total annual rainfall ranges from 780 mm in the dry eastern coastal belt to 2,200 mm in the wet southwest corner of the country.

What are the three ecological zones in Zambia?

Zambia is divided into three major agro-ecological regions (Regions I , II and III), which are primarily based on rainfall amount but also incorporate soils and other climatic characteristics.

What are different ecological zone in Pakistan?

… geographic structure of Pakistan ranges from a mountainous northern part to a southern part with coastal plains that can be divided into four climatic re- gions: a highland climate, low land climate, costal cli- mate and arid climate (Fig. 4).

How many agro-ecological zones are in Kenya?

Kenya has six agro-ecological zones as given in Table 1. Source: Sombroek, et al., 1982.

What are the 4 vegetation zones in Africa?

These are the bioclimatic zones known as the Saharan, Sahelian, Sudanian, Guinean, and Guineo-Congolian Regions, shown in the map above. The lines between these regions represent more of a transition along a continuous ecological gradient than sharp boundaries.

INTERESTING:  Which situation is an example of a human induced environmental change affecting population Brainly?

What was the northernmost ecological zone of Africa?

The Northern Congolian Forest Savanna Mosaic ecoregion includes the northernmost savanna woodlands in Africa.

How many vegetation zones are in Africa?

There are five major vegetation regions: forest, grassland, tundra, desert, and ice sheet. altitude, soil, and precipitation region in which a plant best survives. rural grasslands of southern Africa.

What is grown in Niger?

Niger Niger

Crop Yield (T/ha) Harvested Area (Million ha)
Millet 0.4492 6.0206
Sorghum 0.3047 2.5618
Cowpea 0.1857 4.1001
Maize 1.0049 0.0082

Where is the savanna zone in Nigeria?

The Sudan Savanna zone in Nigeria (Figure I) is an area of about 240,870 sq km comprising northern parts ofthe North Western, North Central and North Eastern States and most of Kano State.

What are the vegetations in Nigeria?

From south to north the vegetation can be broadly classified into coastal (mangrove, fresh water swamp), rain belt (rainforest), Guinea savanna (woodland and tall grass savanna, Montane), Sudan savanna (short grass savanna) and Sahel savanna (Maginal savanna) Source: CBN (Central Bank of Nigeria).